Google Groups
Subscribe to Bring Peace not Pain
Visit this group

Saturday, June 12, 2010

The Power of a Click

  • "How wonderful it is that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world."
    Anne Frank

    This moment…lets make it the one. What can we do right this minute, from right here, right in front of our computers to make our world, someone else world, better? With a few minutes and a few clicks we have the power to make a difference. …lets do it!!

    We could:
    Send someone an email to let them know that you are thinking about them.
    Send a “Call to Action” email to your political leaders about an issue you feel strongly about.
    Learn more about injustices being perpetrated around the globe…and share that knowledge.
    Donate to causes you care about.
    Find out about needs in your community...places to volunteer, etc.
    Join groups that are committed to working in your areas of interest.
    Send in more ideas and we will send you a peace sign necklace!


Sunday, January 3, 2010

Peace Song Challenge

Bring Peace Not Pain, an organization devoted to prompting peace and global citizenship, announces the winners of its Peace Song Challenge. In believing that music has the unique ability to transcend social and geographical barriers, Bring Peace Not Pain, with the support of musical instrument leader Gibson Guitar, launched the Peace Song Challenge in an effort to create a platform for individuals to share their messages of peace through their music. The challenge which generated over 60 submissions from all over the globe, representing music from most genres had three winners.

The First Place Prize winner was selected after various rounds of judging produced a list of the top ten which was then submitted to the official panel of judges which included legendary music producer Bob Ezrin, international recording artist Yusuf (Cat Stevens), Oscar nominee Thavi Phrasavath, music industry hitmaker Anastasia Brown and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame President Terry Stewart.

The judges were unanimous in choosing what BPNP founder Suzi Nance believes is a wonderful choice to represent Bring Peace Not Pain “as its positive message echo’s the sentiments of BPNP that the power to bring about true change in our world rest with each one of us” and Thavi Phrasavath shared “I got goose bumps, the song is jumping out at me with excitement and inspiration.”. “When We Get It Right” by Rockie Lynne, Tim Johnson and Rory Feek, takes home the First Place Award.

The creation of an additional award “The Peoples Choice Award” was motivated by the hundreds of visitors to the BPNP website and their thoughtful comments on the music. After tallying the votes, two songs tied to share this special award James Nihan with his song I See Light in Everything, and EG Kight, Tom Horner, and Bonnie Gehling with their song Through the Eyes of a Child.

Although their musical expertise was evident in the quality of all the winning songs; Rockie Lynne who’s debut single, "Lipstick," spent an impressive 10 consecutive weeks in the #1 on Billboard's Country Singles Sales chart. Tim Johnson a native from western Oregon songwriter and producer has scored 100 major label cuts . Rory Feek known for the last 14 years in Nashville as one of country music's premiere songwriters. EG Kight has been nominated for six Blues Music Awards, twice for Song Of The Year and two of her songs landed on Koko Taylor’s Grammy®-nominated albums. Tom Horner, two time winner of Billboard Magazine's Annual Song Contest was nominated for song of the year in 2004 at the W.C.Handy Awards. It was the positive messages of hope and possibilities in their music that make them the perfect complements to the Bring Peace Not Pain campaign.

All of the winning songs as well as many of the original entry can be found on